Help
<  Back to Index

Content Management

Adding a PC

If you have enabled permission to do so, users can also add their own PCs themselves within their FileFlex client. Before a user can add a PC as a content provider, you must give permission to that user to add their own content providers.
See Understanding Permissions.

Note: A personal computer can only be added as a content source from that personal computer being added. From the PC being added, complete the following:

  1. Select the menu icon in the Global Application bar.
  2. In the dropdown, select Add Content Source.
  3. Select Add Content Source

  4. Select the Personal Computer icon and follow the wizard. Note: The user must be using the computer being added.
    • In the setup wizard, you will have the option to edit the following device settings:

      - Network settings
      - Proxy settings to access the Internet
      - Anti-virus settings

      To edit these or to define which antivirus software on the host machine will be used to scan files uploaded to it, please refer to the section Device Settings.
      Note: The antivirus software must already be installed and running with a valid license on the host machine.
  5. The user will be asked to log in to the personal computer being added. They will need to enter the following credentials:
    Device Username - This is the username that uses to log in to their PC. This field will be auto filled for them.
    Device Password - This is the password that the user uses when they log in to their PC.
    Device Domain (Optional) - If the PC is on a company or corporate domain, the user will need to enter the domain that their device belongs to. Typically, personal computers that are not part of a company or corporate network are not part of a corporate domain. The user should contact their IT department for their domain name.
    Activation Code - This code is entered automatically. For security reasons the code is time limited and will time-out if not used shortly. If the code does time-out, the user will need tostart again at Step 1.

Encryption Policy - For more information see Encryption Options.

Share with anybody - Normal Encryption - This is the default encryption setting as it is the most flexible. Anyone can receive a document shared with this setting on any FileFlex Enterprise client. This setting also allows for streaming of digital media such as music, movies and videos.

Share with double-encryption clients - Double Encryption - This adds a second layer of encryption that brings extra protection against snooping and intercept. The drawback however is that files shared with double-encryption cannot be accessed from the FileFlex Enterprise web client. The recipient must be using a downloaded FileFlex Enterprise desktop, iOS or Android native client. Typically the web client is used when sharing with recipients outside of your company. When sharing with this option, outside recipients will be forced to download and install the FileFlex Enterprise desktop or mobile apps in order to access this content. If the option is grayed out it is not supported by the device and is unavailable.

Share from Intel SGX technology provider source only - Intel SGX Protection - In addition to a second layer of encryption, this option also provides protection even if the sender or receiver’s systems are compromised with malware as the encryption keys are generated within a protected enclave inside of the Intel CPU. The drawback however is that the recipient must be using a Windows PC that has a 7th generation Intel Core CPU or later. When sharing with this option, recipients using smart phones, tablets or Apple computers will not be able to access the file. If the option is grayed out it is unavailable as the device does not have or support Intel SGX technology.

Encrypt Media - If either the Double Encryption or Intel SGX Protection is enabled, then the higher level of encryption selected is disabled by default for media such as music, movies and videos. This will allow for streaming of digital media. That streaming is still protected with some level of encryption. If the Encrypt Media radio button is selected, then the higher level of encryption selected is applied to digital media as well, but that means that the digital media cannot be streamed. Digital media must be downloaded the local device before it can be accessed. In this case also the sharer must enable the files to be downloadable when they set their options for each share.

When the user is finished filling in the information, they click Activate and they’re done!